What is Khatauni or khetawni (खतौनी)?

[] In this article, we will talk about what a khatauni is and its role in understanding the ownership pattern of land in rural India

Those exploring investments in farmland in India, would come across a whole wide range of land revenue terms through the course of their investment journey. One term that they would probably hear and must have a proper understanding of, is Khatauni, also spelt as khetawni.

You are reading: What is Khatauni or khetawni (खतौनी)?

What is Khatauni?

The Khatauni (खतौनी) number is an important tool, to check the status of land ownership, especially in rural parts of India. At the time of sale and purchase of land in India, the Khatauni number plays a crucial role, as it carries all the important information regarding the land.

A type of account number, Khatauni provides information about the land-holding pattern within a family. These pieces of land can be together, or in different places. A legal document, the khatauni provides information about a land, its Khasra number, the number of people owning it, its total area, etc. Khatauni also has the details of all the Khasras owned by a land owner. In other words, Khatauni is the record of all the Khasras owned by a family. It can also be seen as a register of people cultivating or occupying the land in question.

khatauni (खतौनी)

Details you will find in Khetwani/khatauni

  • Name of the village
  • Name of the district
  • Khata number
  • Khasra number
  • Name of the owner and his father
  • Year-wise ownership change details*

*Note here that any change in ownership of the land due to succession or transfer, are reflected in the Khatauni within three months.

Difference between Khasra and Khatauni

While a particular piece of land is known through its Khasra number, the details of all the Khasras of a particular person or family is known as Khatauni. That way, a Khasra number is just a unit while a Khatauni is a record of several units.

Another difference between the two is that the Khasra is made in P-II form while Khatauni is made in B-I form. While the former has 12 columns, the latter has 23 columns.

[] What is Khasra (ख़सरा) number?

How to get Khatauni/khetwani number?

Read also : All about the Municipal Corporation of Gurgaon or MCG

While you could visit the village tehsil or the jan-suvidha centres to get the Khatauni details, you could also visit the official website of the revenue department concerned to obtain the information, as most states currently provide it online.

This information is available on Bhulekh websites of the state concerned. For example, to get the Khatauni details in Uttar Pradesh, you could visit the official website, The information could be obtained by filling in simple details, such as the district, tehsil name, etc.

Where to get Khatauni details?

Here is a list of some of the states where you could get Khatauni details of land online:

Andhra Pradesh:





Himachal Pradesh:


Read also : You can withdraw 90% EPF to buy home, pay EMI from account


Madhya Pradesh:






Tamil Nadu:

[] How to check land records online on Bhulekh Odisha website?


What is the difference between Khasra and Khatauni?

While Khasra is a number provided to a particular piece of land, Khatauni is the details of all land-holding by a family.

What is the difference between Khatauni and Khewat?

A Khewat number is an account number given to land owners, who jointly own a land parcel, while Khatauni is the details of all land-holding by a family.

How to get Khatauni number?

You can check the revenue department website in your state, to get the Khatauni number. You can also inquire at a jan-suvidha centre or the village tehsil, to get the information.

Copyright belongs to:

Category: Lifestyle

Debora Berti

Università degli Studi di Firenze, IT

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button