Pink Line: With Majlis Park-South Campus stretch, Delhi Metro span to cross 250 kms

[] With the opening of the 21.56-km-long Majlis Park-Durgabai Deshmukh South Campus section of Delhi Metro’s Pink Line on March 14, 2018, the total operational network of the Delhi Metro is set to exceed 250 kms

The over 20-km-long Majlis Park-Durgabai Deshmukh South Campus section of the Delhi Metro’s Pink Line, is all set to be thrown open to the public from March 14, 2018, with an end-to-end travel time of 34 minutes. The new corridor, will also for the first time, connect the north and south campuses of the Delhi University, on the metro network, which can be commuted in 40 minutes.

You are reading: Pink Line: With Majlis Park-South Campus stretch, Delhi Metro span to cross 250 kms

With the opening of the 21.56-km-long section, the Delhi Metro’s operational network will expand to nearly 252 kms, a senior DMRC official said.

The new corridor is slated to be formally flagged off by union minister for housing and urban affairs (independent charge) Hardeep Singh Puri and Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal on March 14, 2018, at 4 PM from the Metro Bhawan. Passenger services on the stretch will begin from 6 PM onwards from both, Majlis Park and Durgabai Deshmukh South Campus stations simultaneously, the official said, adding that ‘the end-to-end travel time on this section of the Pink Line would be 34 minutes’.

Read also : 6 PSBs agree to lend Rs 1,000 cr for Amrapali projects

[] Majlis Park-South Campus stretch of Delhi Metro’s Pink Line to open on March 14

It would prove a big boon for commuters, especially students, who till now have to travel either by road from the North Campus or take the Airport Line Metro till Dhaula Kuan and commute again on road. The North Campus area of Delhi University already has a metro station – Vishwavidyalaya – which falls on the Yellow Line that connects Samaypur Badli to Huda City Centre in Gurugram.

“The ticket from Vishwavidyalaya station to Durgabai Deshmukh South Campus station will cost Rs 50 and from Majlis Park station to South Campus station, it will cost Rs 40. On Sundays and national holidays, the fare is less than the regular cost,” the senior official said.

Azadpur Station (on the Yellow Line) is one of the three interchange stations on the Pink Line stretch that opens on March 14, the other two being, Netaji Subhash Place (on the Red Line) and Rajouri Garden (on the Blue Line). The Commissioner for Metro Rail Safety (CMRS), which inspected the stretch from February 26-28, has given the clearance for the project.

Read also : How brokers can address queries about competing projects

This section, which has 12 stations, is part of the 59-km-long Majlis Park-Shiv Vihar corridor (Pink Line – Line 7) of Delhi Metro’s Phase 3. The stations are – Majlis Park, Azadpur, Shalimar Bagh, Netaji Subhash Place, Shakurpur, Punjabi Bagh West, ESI Hospital, Rajouri Garden, Mayapuri, Naraina Vihar, Delhi Cantt and Durgabai Deshmukh South Campus.

Out of the 12 stations, eight are elevated and the rest underground. As with the recently-opened Magenta Line, broad-sized coaches from the new rolling stock, will ply on the standard gauge Pink Line.

Metro’s new generation trains, which can run without drivers, will also run on this section where an advanced Communication Based Train Control (CBTC) signalling technology that will facilitate the movement of trains with a frequency of 90 to 100 seconds, will also be pressed into service. However, for an initial period of two-three years the trains will have drivers.

“For the first time, ‘travelators’ have been installed at the foot over bridges to facilitate interchange at Rajouri Garden and South Campus stations,” the official said. The 21.56-km-long corridor, once opened, will also reduce metro travel time between Dwarka 21 (Blue Line) and Rithala (Red Line) by over 16 minutes and Rajouri Garden and Azadpur by nearly 23 minutes, the DMRC said.

Copyright belongs to:

Category: Lifestyle

Debora Berti

Università degli Studi di Firenze, IT

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button